Pakistan vs India: WC Semifinal - March 30

MOHALI: The much-anticipated World Cup semifinal clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan on Wednesday is set to be played on a batting pitch which will also offer some purchase to the fast bowlers as "slight" grass will be left on it, according to the groundsmen.

The pitch at the PCA Stadium still sports some grass two days before the match and sources said that the groundsmen will have slight cutting at the most, fearing breaking up of the surface.

This means that the fast bowlers will have more purchase from the wicket than the spinners.

"It will be a good batting pitch. We are going not going to cut the grasses much as it may lead to breaking up of the surface. At the most, we may have slight cutting," sources in the Punjab Cricket Association said.

"The ball will seam a bit under the lights. It will be a typical Mohali wicket, with generally good pace and bounce, which is its basic nature," PCA curator Daljeet Singh said.

Another factor, which is expected to play a role in the outcome of the match, is dew. Over the last few days there has been heavy dew with the outfield being wet at night.

"We have been observing how much dew falls during these days," Daljit said.

Considering the dew factor and with the pitch likely to lose pace later, the team that wins the toss is expected to bat first. Bowlers will have tough time to grip the ball in the second innings.

History suggests that captains prefer to bat first after calling the coin right on this pitch.

Seven out of the nine matches played in the last five years have been won by the side batting first.

Out of those nine, seven were day-night matches with five won by the side batting first.

Also, out of the nine matches, the 300-run mark has been breached only twice. Incidentally, on the first occasion, Pakistan chased down India's 321 in a day-night game.

India may have been undefeated against Pakistan in World Cup history, but they have been beaten by the arch-rivals at this venue on two previous occasions.

Even as the clamour for Shoaib Akhtar's inclusion in the Pakistan team for its high-voltage semi-final clash against India gains momentum, the team management seems hell bent on keeping the maverick pacer out of the playing XI.

No we are looking good.. our tunnel is ending and light is out there.. in every dept ;)

Our bad cricketing years doesn't count when we are performing. Also what are you bragging about? A world-cup ranking in which India was put No.1 Team? Waaahhhh.. its good reason to keep yourself happy.

ALL THE BEST!!

▒▐█▀█░▒▄█▀▄░▒▐█▒▐▀▒▐██▒▄█▀▀█▒█▀█▀█░▒▄█▀▄░▒██▄░▒█▌
▒▐█▄█▒▐█▄▄▐█▒▐██▌░░▒█▌▒▀▀█▄▄░░▒█░░▒▐█▄▄▐█▒▐█▒█▒█░
▒▐█░░▒▐█░▒▐█▒▐█▒▐▄▒▐██▒█▄▄█▀░▒▄█▄░▒▐█░▒▐█▒██░▒██▌

ALL THE BEST!!

▒▐█▀█░▒▄█▀▄░▒▐█▒▐▀▒▐██▒▄█▀▀█▒█▀█▀█░▒▄█▀▄░▒██▄░▒█▌
▒▐█▄█▒▐█▄▄▐█▒▐██▌░░▒█▌▒▀▀█▄▄░░▒█░░▒▐█▄▄▐█▒▐█▒█▒█░
▒▐█░░▒▐█░▒▐█▒▐█▒▐▄▒▐██▒█▄▄█▀░▒▄█▄░▒▐█░▒▐█▒██░▒██▌

What was that about?
Nalayak Nikami team hain dono ki dono..match fixing karte hai sare, aur fudoo hamara banate hai.

Now a days cricket is all about money, there is no talent.

oh Khan Saab Semi Final ki taraf bhi tawwajo de dain :lol:
188673_208627945830695_100000504731117_806552_6969184_n.jpg
That's an old pic,your sickened mindset :rolleyes:

:D :D hum nay tay pehlay hee kaha tha sheela teri kawan ha aur pathan hamara kaptan ha

You seem to have a remarkable condescending attitude to women!

I guess it comes from being a part of the tribal society.

BTW, let him try any hanky panky. We will make sure he is tried in accordance with Sharia law. ;)

Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi accused the Indian media on Monday of conducting a negative campaign against his team before Wednesday's eagerly anticpated World Cup semi-final in Mohali. "There is so much negativity in the Indian media. There is nothing positive to watch on the channels and we are just sticking together as a team and it is just the hotel and ground for us," Afridi told the Geo News channel.

"The only answer we can give is with our performance. We will try to give 110 percent in this big match. "Everyone knows how big a match this is and the pressures that come with it. But we will just do our best whatever the result. After the match we just want to be content in our hearts we gave our best." Afridi also said Pakistan were considering playing their controversial fast bowler, Shoaib Akhtar.

"I also want him to play but we have not taken a final decision as yet. And we have to take into consideration his match fitness and his form which we will see in the nets," Afridi said. "We want him in such a high-profile match but we don't want him for just four or five overs, we want him to bowl his full quota of overs,"

Pakistan have not played Akhtar, who has announced his decision to retire after the World Cup, since they lost to New Zealand in the pool matches. Afridi played down his remarks about not allowing Indian maestro Sachin Tendulkar to score runs in the semi-final.
"The Indian media has treated this negatively. There is never any doubt about Tendulkar's greatness. But if someone approaches me and asks me about him (Tendulkar) obviously as Pakistan captain I will not say we will allow him to score runs I will say we will ensure he doesn't get his 100th international century," Afridi said. The Pakistan skipper felt the dew factor would play an important role,

"Yes, there is a lot of dew in the evenings but they are using chemicals to counter it. But it is a factor we will have to take into consideration at the toss," he said. He also expressed disappointment at remarks from Pakistan's Interior Minister Rehman Malik about the government keeping a close watch on the players in the semi-final because of last year's spot-fixing scandal. "I don't think he should have said such a thing at such a time," Afridi said.

Afridi accuses Indian media of negative campaign : Mirror Sports

Why is he even surprised? We all know that the indian media isnt considered professional and is a joke.

Nobody interested to shoot at dark (Or lazy to type much)......AAtish too avoided concrete answers..........let me be the first fool.....

1)Who will win the semifinal on 30th march?

India...

2)Can you guess the margin i.e the aproximate scores for both team. ( If your guess is close to original score by +/- 5 runs it is good.)

India 345 and Pakistan 295 (India Batting first)

Pakistan 245 and India will chase it down with 4 wickets remaining.

3)Who will be the man of the Match? (can you guess his performance in batting and bowling)

Virat Kohli.....a century

4)Who will be the highest scorer for
a) India and b) Pakistan

Virat Kohli and Misbah Ul Haq

5)Who will be the highest wicket taker for
a)India and b) Pakistan

Zaheer Khan and Umar Gul (2-3 wickets for both)

6)Will Sachin make his 100th century on that day?

No...probably 60-70

7) Will Afridi choose the match to bring back his batting form? (Atleast a 50)

No....but he can hit couple of sixes it the end.

8) How many individual100s we are going to see? (Can you guess their names)

Only one

9) Any bowler you think will take 5 wickets or more?

No one

10)How many original decisions will be changed by the TV umpire?

Only once