Pakistan And India-Water Disputes-News And Updates

Pak withdraws objection to two J&K power projects:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::lol:

New Delhi: In a significant development, Pakistan on Monday withdrew its objection to construction of Uri-II and Chutak hydel power projects in Jammu and Kashmir.

At the Indus Water Commissioner-level talks here, the Pakistani side said it had no objection to the designs of the two power projects after the Indian side provided details of these, official sources said.

Pakistan had earlier raised objections over the 240 MW Uri-II project being constructed on Jhelum river in Kashmir valley and the 44 MW Chutak plant being built on Suru, a tributary of Indus river in Kargil district of Jammu and Kashmir's Ladakh province.

Pakistan had claimed that the projects would deprive it of its share of water.

The breakthrough came on the first day of three-day Indus Water Commission talks. The Indian delegation is led by Indus Water Commissioner G Ranganathan while the Pakistani side is headed by his counterpart Syed Jamaat Ali Shah.

This is for the first time that Pakistan has accepted the designs of power projects at the level of Permanent Indus Commission, sources said. Earlier, it took a ministerial meeting to make Pakistan agree to Salal power project.

Under the 1960 Indus Water Treaty, Pakistan has exclusive right over three of the common rivers -- Indus, Jhelum and Chenab -- while India has exclusive right over Sutlej, Ravi and Beas.

The two projects are in an advance stage and are likely to be completed by the end of this year.

Earlier, Baglihar and Kishenganga power projects had been delayed for long because of Pakistani objections.

On the 450-MW Baglihar project, Pakistan had even moved the World Bank, which has the role of neutral arbitrator under the Indus Water Treaty in the disputes between the two countries arising.

The project could go ahead only after the World Bank gave its clearance with suggestions for some minor changes in design of the dam.

Kishenganga project is still under dispute, with Pakistan refusing to give up its objections.

During today's talks, India agreed to continue providing Pakistan with advance flood warning for the coming Monsoon season. India has been providing flood data to Islamabad since 1989 as a goodwill gesture.

The flood data enables Pakistan to prepare and reduce damages in case of flash floods.

During the three-day talks, Pakistan is likely to raise certain issues regarding the Baglihar power project and the Nimoo Bazgo project of Jammu and Kashmir.

Baglihar Power Project is a run-of-the-river power project on the Chenab river in the southern Doda district of Jammu and Kashmir.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had dedicated the 450-MW Baglihar hydro electric power project to the nation on October 10, 2008.

"There are some pending issues which Pakistan is likely to raise during the talks," sources said.

According to NHPC, the proposed Nimoo Bazgo H E Project is a run-of-the-river scheme to harness the hydropower potential of river Indus in Leh district of Jammu and Kashmir. The project is likely to generate 239 Mega Units of power. Pak withdraws objection to two J&K power projects

WTF is so funny. Why do you keep on trying to start flame wars with your stupid actions.

I personally thing its a step in the right direction. Every note of agreement in between India and Pakistan helps.

Good decision by Pakistan. Seriously i thought India was right in this stance. Our political leaders were making fuss for no reason

My take is, Pakistani govt understands the know-how of water issue. However there are some "non-state" actors who tries to paint as if India is stealing water. Worse, many educated Pakistani believes this.

Anyways...a good move by both nations.

pak withdraw objection means if they still object on those power projects so india surely gonna cancel these projects :lol::lol:

I think the Indians cannot be trusted on the water rights issue.

The issue of water in Pakistan is a serious one and affects all walks of life. We are a river based country and the Indus River has been and is our lifeline since the beginning of time.

While the region is still very much tense, I think the only thing to do, if for Pakistan to do a unilateral strike (similar to what Israel did against the Iraqi city of Osirak) and just take out the construction sites of indian dams. This is not a joke to mess around with another countries water supplies, and the pakistan army/air force should let them know, that this is not something we are going to ''negotiate''.
The situation is very simple, Pakistan without access to its water source is going in a catatrophic direction. We need to conduct a unilateral strike if the indians continue dragging their tails on the issue.

India rubbishes Pak charges on water theft

fullstory

same story as reported in indian express in full...

India rubbishes Pak charges on water theft

Peeved at Pakistan's oft-repeated allegation that it is being deprived of its share of common waters, India on Sunday said such charges were aimed at diverting the attention of their people from their "own inefficient" use of the vital resource.

On the eve of the bilateral talks on water here, India asserted that it has never deprived Pakistan of its share of water, not even during wars and had no intention to do so ever.

"India has no intention of taking away water which may be rightfully theirs...We have demonstrated this even in the past. When relations were at nadir, when we were at war, we did not use water as a weapon to deprive them of their share," Water Resources Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal said.

On Pakistan's charge that India was "stealing" water, he said, "They are diverting the attention of their people from their own inefficient use of water... we have seen this in case of Baglihar (power project)."

His statement comes in the backdrop of Pakistan's threat to move the World Bank for arbitration over Kishenganga power project in Jammu and Kashmir, which it alleges violates the 1960 Indus Water Treaty as water would be diverted.

Pakistan is said to have appointed two arbitrators to contest its case, though it is yet to formally approach the World Bank.

Pakistan is also objecting to construction of two other hydel power projects -- Uri-II and Chutak -- in Jammu and Kashmir.

These issues are expected to come up for discussion during the meeting of Indus Water Commissioners here tomorrow.

Suggesting that India was ready to walk the extra mile, Bansal said, "Our effort will be to sort out the matter through negotiations...be it at a higher level also."

The 240 MW Uri-II hydel power project is being constructed on Jhelum river in Kashmir valley.

The 44 MW Chutak project is being constructed in Kargil district of Jammu and Kashmir's Ladakh province and would harness the hydropower potential of Suru river.

The barrage of the project is located near Sarzhe village and the power house is proposed on right bank of river Suru near village Chutak.

Pakistan claims that the construction of the Chutak project would block 35,000-feet per acre water.

India maintains that there is no violation of the treaty and is expected to demonstrate this at the meeting.

Under the Indus Water Treaty, Pakistan has exclusive right over three of the common rivers -- Indus, Jhelum and Chenab -- while India has exclusive right over Sutlej, Ravi and Beas.

one thing caught my eyes as always reported and assumed by people is that Pakistan does not have exclusive rights to three western rivers as use of waters of western rivers are clearly defined under the treaty.OTOH India does have exclusive rights to eastern rivers. when journalists would learn even basics of factually correct reporting....

There was never any dispute from the beginning on various projects.It just that pakistan govt need to have some scapegoat for their mismanagement of water like they blame previous mushy govt. for all economic woes including electricity.wheat etc they blame india for their incompetence on water management.

I think the Indians cannot be trusted on the water rights issue.

The issue of water in Pakistan is a serious one and affects all walks of life. We are a river based country and the Indus River has been and is our lifeline since the beginning of time.

While the region is still very much tense, I think the only thing to do, if for Pakistan to do a unilateral strike (similar to what Israel did against the Iraqi city of Osirak) and just take out the construction sites of indian dams. This is not a joke to mess around with another countries water supplies, and the pakistan army/air force should let them know, that this is not something we are going to ''negotiate''.
The situation is very simple, Pakistan without access to its water source is going in a catatrophic direction. We need to conduct a unilateral strike if the indians continue dragging their tails on the issue.

Ok Go ahead we will make the agressor out of you in front of the whole world. All your loans and aids will be stopped. you will be crushed economically. your villages will be flooded. we will request the world bank to help the poor us and make the dam again :lol: and this time you wont have supplies for your weapons. :D and since you attacked we will throw indus valley treaty in Indus and all your water would be gone this time.

Arey chapalchor kaye ko uski chappal chura raha hai.:rofl:

Pakistan, India close to deal on 2 power projects

* Jamaat Ali Shah says consensus evolved on 250-MW Uri-II power project coming up on River Jehlum
* Both sides expected to find a solution to controversial Chutak hydroelectric project

By Iftikhar Gilani

NEW DELHI: India and Pakistan are close to an agreement on two power projects coming up in Indian-held Kashmir, which have been a major bone of contention between the two countries over the past two years.

Confirming that a consensus had evolved on the 250 megawatts Uri-II power project on Jehlum River, Pakistan Indus Commissioner Jamaat Ali Shah told Daily Times that the issue was dealt with in the “spirit of cooperation and as a gesture of goodwill”.

Solution: As the 105th meeting of the Permanent Indus Commission led by respective Indus commissioners is underway in New Delhi, both sides expect to find a solution to another irritant, the 44MW Chutak hydroelectric project on river Suru (a tributary of Indus) in Kargil district, before they conclude discussions on Wednesday.

India has agreed to permit the Pakistani Commission to undertake two tour inspections to Leh and Kargil in the first week of August.

Further, they also agreed to meet again in July in Lahore.

Commenting on the commission meeting, Jamaat Ali Shah said it was an annual feature to prepare annual reports for the governments. “We also agreed on modalities to exchange advance information on floods and river water flow. We need this information from India to activate our flood information system to save property and lives back in Pakistan,” he added.

Following massive floods in Pakistan in 1988, both countries signed an agreement in 1989 to set up an elaborate arrangement for exchanging flood information beyond the Indus Water Treaty.

“We think this cooperation is working very well. But that has to be renewed every year as user agencies need additional information,” Shah said.

He said the commission on Monday discussed in detail the controversial power projects – the Uri-II, Chutak and the 45MW Nimoo Bazgo, located about 70 kilometres from Leh in Ladakh region – and Pakistan’s objections to these projects.

Shah said they got enough information about the design of Uri-II. “Therefore, a consensus was developed on the basis of information provided by India at the meeting. We have agreed to its design now,” Shah said.

He, however, asked India to reciprocate the gesture and goodwill by providing advance and timely information on projects. “We don’t want to slow down India’s quest for power and development. But we are concerned that they provide us information and design projects as per the Indus Water Treaty (IWT). So far our experience is India is too slow in generating and passing on information, which cause unnecessary delays and problems,” the Pakistani commissioner added.

There is a possibility of an agreement on Chutak power project as well, as Shah said they were awaiting some crucial information that India had assured to table in a day. He said his side expected a consensus on the technical aspect of this project as well. However, on Nimoo Bazgo, he said India was yet to allay our objections.

Shah further said he raised the issue of avoiding the recurrence of the incidences like the Baglihar dam filling.

Source: Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

---------------------------------------------------

Woh pani rook kar bheta hey aur isko promotion aur uske development ka inko kitna khyaal hey jab apni taraf uthanay walay bhetay hain agloon kay itnay tu phir unko kehna tu fazoool hey! WTF this govt!!!! ye hamaray minister hein. Wtf Spirit of good will woh asla aapnay chachay kiliye kareed raha hey ??? pani usnay apni phupi ka band kar rakha hey ??? kadi jo 20 30 40 saal say india may hain unko maar maar kar wapis hawalay kar raha hey aur hamara media aur hukmaraan unko ulta promotion day rahay hain lanat asi goodwill pe!

"Govt make policis in the favour of thr Country and making policies against Enemy.....

Our Govt make policies against own people and country and make favourable policies in the favour of our enemy"

inteha hey yaar imaan say!