Will Mars mission propel India ahead of China in space race?

Will India take space launch tech support calls for Space-X?

As long as Chinese people do the factory work of cheap low tech components for space launches , that too confining people in prision camps.

As I always told, India would be the biggest technology power humans have ever seen. the successful mars mission is just the tip of the mountain.

Remember they did it in a mere 15 months.:cheesy: Now match that.:man_in_love:

There is no successful mission yet. Wait until the results are in before bragging.

there won't be. india is 100% relying on NASA to do the tracking and navigation, tell me how that is going to make it an indian mission to mars?

if you look at their rocket, their satellite, tell me how many chips are made in india? ZERO. 
As long as Chinese people do the factory work of cheap low tech components for space launches , that too confining people in prision camps.

cheap? please keep this in mind: india's GDP, average household income, government budget are all way cheaper than the Chinese ones.

cheap is the word reserved for india 
I don't think there is any race between China and india on space.

If you look at the gap, there is simply no comparison:
1. China has a space lab in operation, it docketed multiple times with manned spaceships. india has nothing.
2. China launched 10 Shenzhou spaceships, 5 of them manned, 10 men and 2 women travelled to space. india has nothing.
3. China launched 20 Beidou navigation satellites, Asia and Pacific inlcuding india has been covered. india has nothing.
4. China launched multiple data relay satellites, india has nothing.
5. China has a network of satelliate monitoring the location and movement of all 19 aircraft carriers in the world, india has nothing.
6. China is going to land its own moon rover on the moon next month, india had a satellite crashed onto the moon.

this list goes really long.

when your nation's GDP is about 1/4 of ours, when your nation dont even has a half decent power grid to support your industries, it is just day dreaming if you want to have a space race with China.

there won't be. india is 100% relying on NASA to do the tracking and navigation, tell me how that is going to make it an indian mission to mars?

if you look at their rocket, their satellite, tell me how many chips are made in india? ZERO. 

cheap? please keep this in mind: india's GDP, average household income, government budget are all way cheaper than the Chinese ones.

1. China has a space lab in operation, it docketed multiple times with manned spaceships. india has nothing.
2. China launched 10 Shenzhou spaceships, 5 of them manned, 10 men and 2 women travelled to space. india has nothing.
3. China launched 20 Beidou navigation satellites, Asia and Pacific inlcuding india has been covered. india has nothing.
5. China has a network of satelliate monitoring the location and movement of all 19 aircraft carriers in the world, india has nothing.
6. China is going to land its own moon rover on the moon next month, india had a satellite crashed onto the moon.

when your nation's GDP is about 1/4 of ours, when your nation dont even has a half decent power grid to support your industries, it is just day dreaming if you want to have a space race with China.

But India has ambition of being a superpower. Check out all the Indian superpower facebook pages. Pages upon pages of them. Chinese has nothing.

It's hard to believe some of them really believe what they are saying...

all the above are repeats of your previous posts.. are you eating the same plate of curry everyday since birth?
again why are you cursing yourself all the time for your own mental and horrendous character difiiciencies?

also you people are so ungrateful trying to belittle nasa's importance in the mission
if they are unimportant why their acceptance of assistance is in the news? can you complete the mission without them?

We have never said we have not asked for Russia's assistance
We never said their contribution to the space suite as unimportant - unlike the cheerleaders
All space suit appear the same when looking from photos
The suits are made in China by our scientists
Your antenna, solar panels, shape of rockets ... all look like our Long March rockets too but you dont have the power
Did the Russians complain about our space suite theirs and asked for compensation?
Your jealousy, envy and fear of our technical advancement in obvious

1. who is the poor guy who claimed China does not have co-operations with other space agencies and who is that liar who is now eating his own foul words
2. The docking system is our technology. We operate it through our space control centers and our taikonauts inside of various indigenous spacecraft
3. the launching, orbiting, rendezvous, docking and locking system are owned by China. if the Russians said the technology belongs to them then come and get it back.
4. Have we purchased any of the systems from anywhere? We have done numerous researches, experiments, testings ,confrimations on the systems before they are launched onto space for our missions successfully, several times

you shameless and incapable people only open your foul mouths, keep on maligning our space capabilities and advancements and crying on your own cursing the dire lack of intellectual competence to achieve as good as we are.

that is your character from a failed state

you are just silly. cant you read and comprehend the text and the meaning of it? Have we denied the Russian's assistance in the development of our programs?

You always said Russians are your closest friends and ally. You should gain more than us on the transfer Russia's technology

Why you are still so much behind us, cheerleaders?

they are the biggest wire-espionage operation of the world
we have been accused of these particularly on election years to ask for voite! They're B/S
all the time!
They may have stolen a lot from us before we know it

You have no grounds to argue but to rely on dirty words and unfound accusations on us to cover your own incapabilites

Take a look at this you illiterate and ill-tempered liar:

No doubt, China is ahead of us in space: ISRO chief | Pakistan Defence

You are a moron of first grade !

You are shamelessly accepting the Russia's Crucial role in China's space tech but at the same time you are trying to overplay the role of NASA facilities that India is hiring in some of the phases of 780 million km journey of MOM.

I can't help but pity the never ending stupidity of yours .

You agree that Russia has provided all crucial components , tech to china's missions ....

But you overlook the fact that India has designed and made this mission possible in mere 15 months wholly on its own. Unlike China who tried to piggyback its probe of Russian launcher ....India is using its own launcher .
and yet you go on casting aspersions on India ....

Look at your countries track record in military , industrial , nuclear , space related espionage ....

You are not capable to make anything on own ....

Only thing you can be good is making second rate copies of stolen technology ....

India has arrived at this point on its own ....based on sheer hard work and determination .

You guys are simply jealous of the fact that country you despise has forged ahead of you as far as Mars mission is concerned .

I am astounded by your continued hypocrisy....The double standards you are applying are self evident ...

while you justify the Russian role in your nation's space programme , you are harping on the so called use of NASA facilities ....

Are you born stupid or CCP harebrained dictats made you imbecile ...???

India has upgraded its Deep space network to cover and track MOM's 78o million km long journey ....

India is only going to use NASA facilities of ground stations to complement its ground station segments ...

Do you understand the difference between wholly relying on one country ...and the complementary use of facilities for which we are paying NASA handsomely ...

Country like US have large number of ground stations strewn across the globe ...which they have been using for inter planetary missions ...

India's Mars mission was announced only 15 months back....although India has expanded its deep space network across number of countries in Pacific ...it does not have requisite number of ground stations in rest of the continents ....given the complexity on International agreements that are required to make to establish tracking stations in other countries territories and man them ....

It makes sense to use the pre existing ground station with fees they charge than, to go for building new stations ....especially in limited time that ISRO had ....given the short window of opportunity ...

The use of NASA facilities does not mean that India doesn't have capability make deep space network ...

Only thing is that India doesn't have time to fully escalate its deep space network at the moment .

India have some of the largest Radio-telescopes in the world ....

Indian astronomers recently discovered 3 of the youngest supernova's described in the world recently using its own Giant Meter Radio Wave telescope ....

Indian astronomers have been tracking numerous of farthest space objects such as quasars , pulsars , supernovas ! which is testimonial of India's capability in radio-telescopy , radio-astronomy .

India has largely benefitted by such various basic science mega- projects ...Indian Neutrino Observatory , GMRT . so do not doubt India's capability to have Good enough deep space network

The Mars mission requires specific tracking system which India has already upgraded ....the time constrains of the mission have forced India to use NASA's paid facilities to complement its own deep space network ....

You have been utter liar to make it believe that India is totally dependent on NASA's support ....

You are ok with China copying Russia's missile , rocket technology ....
You are ok with China copying Russia's Soyuz designs
You are ok with China copying Russia's life support systems , docking technology
You are ok with China even copying Russian space suits ....
Chinese are stupid and lousy enough even to keep the colour schemes of copied space suits same .

You do not mind China sending its astronauts for training to Russia

You have absolutely no qualms about piggybacking Chinese probe for free ride on Russian launcher

But you get heart burn for so called NASA assistance to India's Mars mission ....

You must be incurably idiot ! ....and so I am only going to ignore your childish tantrums and girlish whimpers ....

Go on groaning and moaning ....that's the best you can do when you run out of truth and facts ....

Anyways we got it right in the first launch guys, no country has got it right in first launch, so why this race? I am a STAR TREK fan " To boldly go where no man has ever gone before" Some countries want to construct space stations around earth , fine.Some countries explore space, both such endeavors Exploration and Construction benefits the whole earth. I want to see an Alien really :D, the question to answer "WE ARE NOT ALONE".all these petty fights mean nothing when we encounter anything other than human race.:woot:
u want to see one! what about our buddies across the border..:yay:

wow Indo-Guy thanks for the great post.

anyhow India will be biggest technology power mankind has ever seen. So this mars mission is just a small step in that direction. ISRO can do such mission in 15 months only. While China may take 4-5 years for such a mission.

this is just the tip of the capability of India.

Wow you are one overestimating goof with a crazy superiority complex.

GO check the facts before spouting crap.
NASA will navigate through only 3 of its stations during ISRO's dark period rest of the navigation will be done by the Indian Deep Space Network including the ship based navigation.SCI Nalanda and SCI Yamuna have already been positioned somewhere around Fiji.
Deep Space Network
Welcome To ISRO :: Tracking Facility

As for the data relay satellites you may wanna check some of the satellites in the INSAT series before farting premature evaluation.
Unlike your y
inghuo-1 which decayed all over the place our moon mission came with significant findings. And what significant discovery has been done by your chang'e?

Lets see if chang'e 3 doesn't face the same fate.:rofl:

here u go all the racist faggots ......
Indian Space Mission, Poverty and Closet Racism
Balaji Viswanathan
India has now successfully launched its mission to Mars. The mission was achieved at an extraordinary low price tag of $74 million - 1/10 of what a similar mission would cost NASA or ESA. If this successfully reaches Mars, India will be the first country to have the Mars mission succeed on the first try.

The Provocation
Just as quickly as the rocket sped off, the Western journalists who marveled the moon walk in their childhood are engaging the Indians in an unnecessary provocation. And these are not coming from cheap tabloids, but reputed media houses. It is not the criticism that rankles, but how crudely they are hitting below the belt.

This author chose to include poverty right in the headline:
India Mars Mission to Launch Amidst Overwhelming Poverty

What a refreshing headline!! Not even poverty. It has to be "overwhelming poverty". Who are we to launch into space? Should we not ask our British colonial masters before doing anything?

Apparently the other countries engaging in scientific research face no poverty. Apparently, space has something to do with poverty. Apparently, it is between funding ISRO and solving poverty. You cannot do both. No sir, no. Next time, when you write about something that Britain did well, sure to remember to randomly incorporate the poverty of Birmingham and the riots of London into the title.

"England wins 10 Olympic golds amidst all the poverty"
"NASA begins its moon mission despite failing to manage hurricane relief"
"European Space Agency launches a satellite despite the inability to control religious riots in Paris and Tottenham, London".

This CNN author didn't even pretend to hide the racist idea:
Is India's Mars mission the latest escalation in Asia's space race?
For a country like Australia, the space aspirations are extremely pragmatically driven. On the other hand, a country like Malaysia is intent on putting astronauts in space -- that's very prestige-oriented.
Apparently, brown people's ambitions to reach space is not pragmatic enough. Apparently, the $75 million spent on the Mars mission is the only thing that keeps us from building toilets.

This gentleman at Guardian makes a thinly-veiled threat:
ISRO to launch India's first spacecraft to Mars
Critics of Britain's aid programme in the country have also been angered by the mission. The UK gives India around £300m each year.
Britain threatens to pull its aid. This is ghastly. What would India do without all these do-gooder British aid? The Indian economy of 1 trillion pounds was badly depending on these 300 million pounds that comes with no strings attached. We are an ungrateful bunch, aren't we? We are supposed to surrender our national priorities and research work and listen to our ex-colonial masters for a paltry 300 million.

This economist article is more subtle and even more racist:
How can poor countries afford space programmes?
What if the 16,000 scientists and engineers now working on space development were deployed instead to fix rotten sanitation?Someone from Oxford wants to know why don't we all Indians work on toilets and potty research?

If this author lived at the time of Renaissance, s/he might have written:
Newton, Michelangelo and da Vinci are wasting time instead of building toilets.

Poverty should indeed be an excuse to postpone great achievements. Right?
main-qimg-457cdf883eb7389ebcbbb2505fddf74d

These achievements are the ones that are keeping our kids smiling and hopeful. This kid has an extra inspiration now. She has extra hope.
The Double Standards
This is monumental for us Indians. Imagine how the Americans felt when they first landed on moon. This is a landmark work for Indian scientists and I am filled with pride, just as the 1960s Americans were filled with pride as Armstrong made his stride. Sure, America had plenty of issues in 1969 - Vietnam war, civil rights, inflation, unemployment. But, those negative news could wait another day. It was time to enjoy the moon.

Actually, these commentators give a squat about India. They don't have any history of commenting on India's social needs. This is just outright racism clothed in a patronizing tone. For me they just look sore losers and cry babies.
The Cost
Many of these journalists cribbing about the cost seem disconnected from India. We spent 450 crores on this mission. Let me put that in context. One of the local cricket teams - Mumbai Indians alone is worth 1000 crores. Ambani built a home in Mumbai for 5000 crores. Every single day, Indians buy gold jewelry worth 1500 crores. An upcoming Bollywood movie (made about space) is costing over 500 crores. And finally, Indian central government budget is 17 lakh crores (I actually rounded off this figure and that roundoff error alone could fund 130 such missions).

India doesn't have more toilets, not because we don't have extra 450 crores, but because of our poor execution of things. Don't heap your blame on poor ISRO for India's social conditions (ironically, a non-trivial portion of this poverty & hunger is due to the colonization under a power from where you are writing these articles).

Desi Wannabes
Not to be outdone by the firangis (foreigners), our Indian wannabes joined action:
Amidst euphoria, some voices question cost of Mars Mission
Social activist Harsh Mander termed the mission as a "remarkable indifference to the dignity" of the poor.
Arre! Poor are so hurt now, ouch because of some big words! Of course, when Mr. Mander teaches from an AC classroom at a business school or gives lectures from comfy podiums, the dignity of the poor is not so much hurt.

An ex-ISRO head was quoted extensively by everyone.
It is not value for money... It is more disturbing that somebody is making a claim that they are going to find presence of life on Mars. This is really a moonshine
Moonshine? Wow! Of course none of this bitterness & disgruntlement is due to him being an ex-employee who was disgracefully expelled from ISRO after the S-band scam. He carries out an open war with the current ISRO chief and of course we can expect him to be unbiased & honest in this issue.

Why India needs a MARS program
  1. It is exciting for the children and teenagers, many of whom might take up a career in science, technology and research. These kids deserve an inspiration in the sky. If we can get a couple of hundred of these kids into hard sciences, the mission would have paid for itself completely.
    main-qimg-f96bc29dd7ff4fc32c1b66dad2a45b7e
  2. ISRO is already using the technology to help other countries put their equipments in space (for a lucrative fee, of course). If we continue to innovate in cost and speed, we could become a big hub for space projects. That would mean employment for 1000s of engineers and lot of foreign $$. India successfully launches Indo-French, 6 foreign satellites
  3. India needs to prove its technological capabilities as it is building up the technology hub of the future - not just space, but everything. If you could launch a Mars mission at the cost of setting up ERP in an enterprise, you could build anything. There are both direct and intangible effects of this demonstration. This would really benefit India's tech companies. This is actually rocket science! Again more $$.
  4. India needs to spend on research to master the science of the future. NASA had plenty of spinoffs resulting out of its space program that advanced other fields such as medicine, apparel, food and navigation.
  5. We could have made the "Model T" of spacecrafts - inexpensive and quick. The mission was completed in just 14 months and $75 million with little prior expertise. More importantly, the mission got off the ground on the first try. China, Japan and Russia have had to abort Mars missions in the past 2 decades due to launch failures. That is an outstanding engineering feat worth of salute.
  6. Indians have always been fascinated by space since antiquity. Our ancient scientists spent all their lives looking at space. In the recent times, scientists such as Subramaniam Chandrashekar (Nobel laureate in astrophysics), SN Bose (Boson was named after him) have electrified the field. This mission is deeply fascinating even from a cultural perspective.
  7. Imagine the potential it has for the humanity if we could launch 100s of inexpensive missions in our search for alternative life forms and alternative planets. 4 years ago India helped confirm that there is water on moon - the confirmation of which has eluded global researchers for 5 decades. This mission sent to detect methane could be the start of a new life for Indian science. Aryabatta and Bhaskaracharya would be really proud of the lads who worked on this mission.
  8. We need our Renaissance. We can be drooling in our pee or we can start to create something. We have to start breaking the chain of poverty by thinking outside the box. That would mean boldly assertive. People in other walks of life can surely draw inspiration from our scientists. This day is so refreshing although I have zero connection with anything ISRO did. If we can reach Mars, we can do anything - from politics, arts to science & sports.

Outsiders have no idea of what this all means to Indians. Even a poor, hungry kid could dream for a Math Olympiad, can't she? In the same way, even a poor hungry nation can participate in a scientific mission, can't we?

We launched a peace project - not a bomb. We didn't go around fighting a poor country citing the presence of fake WMD. We didn't build a vessel to conquer unsuspecting thirdworlders. We launched a mission to help humanity and the advancement of science. More importantly, we launched it with our money. We didn't ask for your money nor help. Who are you to patronize us this way

These journalists are like the rich bullies who enter a poor man's house and mock at the books kept by the poor man - "you poor bastard can't afford to eat rich food and you can afford to buy more books?"
main-qimg-0bd79565ed1799aaea1c22432fbac428

Yes, these journalists pretty much appear to me like those bullies. In short, to all these journalists mentioned above here is my finger, shown with love.

Indian Space Mission, Poverty and Closet Racism - Ode on a Grecian Urn - Quora

wow Indo-Guy thanks for the great post.

anyhow India will be biggest technology power mankind has ever seen. So this mars mission is just a small step in that direction. ISRO can do such mission in 15 months only. While China may take 4-5 years for such a mission.

this is just the tip of the capability of India.

What India has achieved by making Mars mission possible and reality within just matter of 15 months of announcement is simply unbelievable .....

Off course we have a long way to go ...

The Mars mission is still open to failure in next 10 months ...

Some of the PDF members here are simply not able to evaluate India's mission in unbiased way ...

ISRO deserves cudos for Mars mission and everything else that we have achieved in space ...

while we celebrate our success we also have to be mindful of our failures...

only then we can improve ourselves ...

India has achieved all this on basis of its sheer hard work and determination ....

India faced numerous technology denials while countries like China benefited enormously itially from Soviet Russia ( under sweet name of Soviet internationalism ) as well as from US ( post Sino-Soviet split - when US deliberately allowed China to pilfer dual use technology to wean China totally away from Soviet bloc ) ....China also benifited from Russia , Ukraine after collapse of USSR ....as number of space scientsits, technicians were rendered jobless due to collapse of Soviet economy ....

China reaped benefits of disintegration of USSR by simply mopping up the left overs of Soviet Science achievements ....

However Chinese may deny ....but in all spheres of Science they got very crucial help from Soviet Russia , US and today they continue to gain from Russia as there is convergence of Sino- Russian interests to counter US hegemony ....

India on other hand had been victim of technology denial....and despite several impediments India has arrived at world stage on basis of sheer hard work .

My search on Indian and Chinsese capabilities have only revealed how Russia continues to contribute to Chinese advance .....

It is unfortunate that Russia has chosen to play second fiddle by letting China usurp those technological achievements which Russia hard earned during last 6 decades .

I have earlier in my several threads on PDF have given conclusive proof from various authentic sources with cross verifiable references how Russia helped China in crucial fields of science such as missile , rockets , nuclear technology ....

You can visit these threads to see astounding amount of evidence that is available in this regard.

There is so much evidence available on the net even for average reader like me to collate and put together ....I was simply exhausted to see the extent to which China was spoon fed crucial technology by Soviet Russia ....

You will be surprised to learn that even after getting blue prints for a nuke ...( apart from the fact Russian build uranium , plutonium enrichment plants in China , helped build East Atomic Energy institute , provided ready made cyclotron , trained tens of thousands of Chinese scientists , besides giving 300 million UD Dollars aid to China in 1950's ....it took China several years to build and test nuke ....so much for the Chinese capability to copy....

Those imbeciles took 6 years to assemble one nuke ....

speaking about china's space programme ....Russian helped China test first rocket in 1960 ....

So China had head start of 20 years over India in nuclear as well as space programme yet India have today marched ahead of China with respect to mars mission ....which is the chief reason for heart burn among majority of Chinese members here !

Do read the following threads where I have put extensive amount of evidence available over the net together much to dismay and consternation among Chinese members over PDF who hate India like nothing ....

Everytime I have managed to shut their mouths ....with this humongous irrefutable evidence ....

.....off course how can they deny veracity of People Republic of China Foreign Ministry archives , Soviet archives , Chinese experts !!!

Soviet Russia helped China build Nuclear Weapons Programme

Soviet Russia helped to get China in Nuclear , Space , Missile technology

Role of Espionage in Chinese Technology

Chinese Cyberwarfare

Indian shall build toilets for the population before bragging about space race. 
They just sent a probe with a small payload into space, they have no technology to further explore Mars mission, just like their moon probe and end up crash into the moon surface without any further moon mission. Indian couldn't even sent a robotic to the Moon let alone sending a robotic mission onto Mar.

But India has ambition of being a superpower. Check out all the Indian superpower facebook pages. Pages upon pages of them. Chinese has nothing.
Lets be honest. The Chinese Elite and the Indian Elite have the ambition to become a
superpower and to reestablish their glorious ancient past. Both countries were superpowers
during ancient and medieval period and the elite of both countries think that they are the
successors of the ancient Dynasties.